Posts Tagged ‘ unwed sailor

btv042 Unwed Sailor : Firecracker

Unwed Sailor
“Firecracker” (btv042)
Buy Online
Track listing:
1. Firecracker
2. Ruby’s Wishes
3. Snowcaps
4. Once in a Blue Moon
After years of recording and performing with the prog-core Roadside Monument and then joining Pedro the Lion long enough to perform on their debut album, Jonathan Ford, bass player, longed for an outlet to perform bass oriented songs that didn’t fit with either band. He eventually decided to quit Pedro and move to Chicago. Just before moving he invited his friends David Bazaan (Pedro the Lion), KC Wescott (The Vogue), and Melissa Palladino (who has recorded and performed with Damien Jurado, Jen Wood, and Danielson Famile) to help his songs come alive as Unwed Sailor. The “Firecracker EP” was recorded by Blake Wescott (Sarah Shannon, The Vogue, Saltine, etc) in September 1998 at Casa Recording Co., Seattle Washington. The album was originally released on Seattle’s Made In Mexico label along with other groundbreaking records , such as Pedro the Lion’s “It’s Hard to Find a Friend”. Unwed Sailor has since released a full length “The Faithful Anchor”, but the “Fircracker EP” is where it all begins. It is a subtle, sublime post- rock instrumental opus.

Unwed Sailor’s debut recording re-issued on vinyl (70g red) for the first time and in a special digipak version. Firecracker is a groundbreaking effort in instrumental music and features Johnathon Ford with Melissa Palladino (Danielson Famile), K.C. Wescott (Seldom), and Dave Bazaan (Pedro the Lion).



btv042.5 Unwed Sailor : The Faithful Anchor

Unwed Sailor
“The Faithful Anchor” (btv042.5/unwd001)
Buy Online

Track listing:
1. Last Goodbyes
2. The House of Hopes…Dreams…and Wishes…
3. The Faithful Anchor
4. Our Nights
5. Golden Cities
6. Ruby’s Wishes
7. In the Presence of Thrones
8. Riddle of Stars
9. The Quiet Hour

Unwed Sailor’s current line-up consists of Johnathon Ford on bass, Nic Tse on guitar, and Matt Putman on drums. Ford and Tse worked with drummer Matt Johnson (ex-Roadside Monument) and producer Daniel Burton (Ativin, Early Day Miners) to record their full-length, The Faithful Anchor, originally released in summer 2001. With Burton’s help, the band captured its trademark melodic, instrumental energetic sound, mixing in Eno-esque ambience and adding just a hint of experimentalism. Ford adds vocals to the final track, “The Quiet Hour,” further stretching the boundaries of Unwed Sailor’s sound



btv046 Circle of Birds : s/t

Circle of Birds
“s/t” (btv046)
Buy Online

Track listing:
1. Old Ironside
2. Circle of Birds
3. Good Fortune at Harbor Freight

Johnathon Ford of Unwed Sailor and Roadside Monument grew up in Broken Arrow, OK. Burnt Toast Vinyl recording artists Ester Drang also hail from the Broken Arrow/Tulsa region. Members of Ester Drang were friends with Ford before he moved to Seattle to pursue his musical endeavors, but remained in contact over the years.

Circle of Birds is a combined effort between Ford, Ester Drang, and members of OK’s country band Lasso. This self-titled release was recorded in forty-eight hours in a practice room at the University of Tulsa, capturing the improvisational efforts of all involved. The result is a spectacular instrumental ep that combines the airy, orchestrated sounds of Ester Drang with the energetic indie approach of Unwed Sailor and just a hint of cowboy inspired country aesthetic from Lasso members. The songs are highly melodic, cinematic, and fragile, serving as a snapshot of the recording session. The recordings were carefully mixed in Seattle by Pedro the Lion’s David Bazan and Johnathon Ford



Adana masaj Afyon masaj Ankara masaj Antalya masaj Aydin masaj Batman masaj