BTV052 Denison Witmer : Live

Denison Witmer
“Live” (btv052)
Buy Online

Track listing:

1. Intro
2. Things Never Turn Out the Way You Think
3. You Got Me Good
4. I Won’t Let You Down
5. 24 Turned 25
6. You and Me
7. Birds (Neil Young cover)
8. Stations
9. Steven
10. Are You Lonely
11. The ’80s
12. Thirteen (Big Star cover)
13. Meant To Be
14. Forgiven

When Denison Witmer was about to depart on a national tour in the fall of 2001, Burnt Toast Vinyl’s Scott Hatch gave him a compact minidisc recorder, a single stereo condenser microphone, and a huge supply of minidiscs and said, “How about recording your tour?” Dutifully, before the start of each show, Denison inserted a blank disc, hooked up the mic, and pushed the red record button.

Several months and 40+ concerts later, Scott, along with Denison’s brother Douglas Thut Witmer, carefully catalogued, reviewed, scrutinized, and selected the material that appears on this album. The 14 tracks on this project are culled from a half-dozen venues in the U.S. and Canada. It’s just Denison in natural solo form and a few great collaborations with guitarist Matthew Stone and the Cleveland-based band The Six Parts Seven on material that dates from his earliest release to songs written just before the show.